Getting a Graduated Driver’s License in New Mexico
Congratulations, you’re at the age where it’s time to obtain your learner’s permit! If you’re wondering where to get a learner’s permit in Albuquerque, Las Cruces, and Santa Fe, NM, choose MVD Express. We make taking the learner’s permit test and obtaining your graduated driver’s license simple with a friendly staff that will take you step-by-step through the process.
New Mexico Graduated Driver’s License Program in Three Easy Steps
There are three stages of licenses that you’ll need to obtain through the graduated driver’s license program. We make it easy and convenient to obtain your learner’s permit, provisional license, and lastly your unrestricted full driver’s license.
Written test scores from driving school or test may be taken at MVD Express. The steps are designed to ensure life-long safe driving habits, and take place in three stages:
|To obtain an Instructional Permit, a teen must be at least 15 years old, enrolled in a Driver’s Education Program or Driving School and present the following documents:
You’ll need to follow special rules to successfully complete this state of obtaining your license:
|To obtain a Provisional License, a teen must be at least 15 ½ years old, completed Stage 1 (Drivers Instructional Permit) of the GDL process and present the following documents:
By providing an original birth certificate, Social Security Card and two proofs of New Mexico residency, you are eligible for either a non-federal-compliant Driver Authorization Card (if applicant cannot prove lawful status) or a Real ID-compliant license (if applicant can prove lawful status).
To obtain a full unrestricted license, a teen must have held their Provisional License for at least one (1) year, completed Stage 1 and Stage 2 of the GDL process, and come to MVD Express with:
Before you get behind the wheel, know that traffic violations made during the graduated license steps will delay your ability to obtain a full license. We outline the rules below so all our future drivers know the consequences of traffic violations when obtaining a learner’s permit.
Violations & Obtaining Your NM Driver’s License
According to New Mexico law, the six-month minimum period for which an individual is required to hold an instruction permit before obtaining a provisional license is extended by 30 days for every traffic violation committed during the time the individual was driving with the instruction permit.
The 12-month minimum period for which an individual is required to hold a provisional license before obtaining a regular driver’s license is also extended by 30 days for every traffic violation committed during the time the individual was driving with the provisional license, for which the individual was convicted or adjudicated delinquent.
Traffic violations include child not in restraint device or seat belt; failure to properly fasten safety belt; using a mobile communication device while driving a motor vehicle (unless the driver holds a valid, FCC-issued amateur radio operator license and is operating an amateur radio); and buying, attempting to buy, receiving, possessing or permitting oneself to be served alcoholic beverages.
About MVD Express Albuquerque
If you are looking for a fast, easy way to take the learner’s permit test and obtain your graduated license in Albuquerque, New Mexico, come to MVD Express. We offer comprehensive services, including license plates and road tests. Questions? Contact us today.
Call your local MVD Express today to talk to one of our helpful staff members!
575.373.8247 in Las Cruces
505.294.1732 for all Other Offices
MVD Express is proud to serve New Mexico with locations in Albuquerque, Rio Rancho, Santa Fe and Las Cruces.