Seat belts are no joke. When you ride around in the car with your parents as a kid, you’re told over and over that you need to wear a seatbelt. However, as we get older, many people start to get out of the habit of buckling their seat belts as soon as they sit in the car. Not wearing your seat belt may seem like the cool thing to do, but in a life or death situation, it’s definitely “cooler” to be alive.
At MVD Express, we care about the safety of our customers, and we try to keep you up-to-date with all of the latest news, laws, and regulations about driving and riding in a car. In today’s post, we discuss New Mexico’s seat belt laws to help you understand why this strap plays such an important role in your safety.
Buckle Up In the Back Seat
Those straps that hold you into your seat while the car is in motion are for more than just sweet fashion sense, they’re really there to protect you. In the event of an accident, the CDC reports that you are 50 percent less likely to sustain serious injuries while wearing a seatbelt. Buckling up is more than just for safety, however — it’s the law.
This same rule applies to those sitting in the back seat. In some states, it may be legal for residents riding in the back seat to not wear a seat belt, but in the New Mexico, the law is that all passengers must wear their seat belts.
New Mexico Seat Belt Laws
New Mexico is a primary enforcement state, meaning that you can be pulled over for not wearing your seat belt and issued a ticket. In non-primary enforcement states, the driver must be pulled over for another offense and will receive a ticket for a seat belt violation if they are not wearing their seat belt.
Other New Mexico seat belt laws include:
- Everyone, ages 7 and up, must wear a seatbelt if riding in a car
- Children up to 7 and/or less than 60 pounds must ride in a safety seat
- Children ages 7 to 12 must ride in a booster seat until the seat belt fits them properly
- Booster seats must be secured with lap and shoulder seat belts
If you are caught violating any seatbelt law, you can be issued a first-offense citation. The consequences for a first-offense include:
- A $25 penalty
- Two points on your driver’s license
Subsequent infractions will increase the fine and points on your driver’s license. Too many points on your New Mexico driver’s license can add costs to your insurance premium and possibly get your license suspended or revoked.
Got a Fine?
We know it’s no fun to be pulled over and issued a ticket, no matter the reason. But you can take care of it as soon as possible by bringing it to any MVD Express location. In addition to ticket services, we also offer a variety of MVD services, including driver’s tests, title transfers, VIN inspections, and more! If you’re looking for a one-stop shop that can provide you with the services you need in a timely and professional manner, look no further than MVD Express! With more than 10 locations across New Mexico, we make it easy to get in, get out, and get on your way. Call today to schedule an appointment!