If your New Mexico driver’s license has been suspended or revoked for a specific length of time, you’ll have to reinstate your license when your suspension period is up. At MVD Express, we make license reinstatement quick and painless so you can get back on the road, fast! We offer a plethora of motor vehicle department services, including license renewals and registration, and we would be happy to help you. Stop by one of our DMV locations in Albuquerque, Santa Fe, Rio Rancho or Las Cruces today!
Required Documents For Your License Reinstatement
Once your suspension period has passed, you’ll received a notice from the New Mexico DMV that it’s time to reinstate your license. Before you visit MVD Express to reinstate your driver’s license, make sure you have the required documents listed below:
|Proof that you completed a driver improvement course. The course must be approved by the Traffic Safety Bureau of the State Highway and Transportation Department.||The driver improvement course must have taken place not more than 90 days before your driver’s license reinstatement.||Complete the written driver’s examination and vision test.|
- If your license was suspended due to a DUI conviction, you’ll need to take certain steps to obtain your interlock license in addition to the driver’s license reinstatement process.
- PLEASE NOTE: Reinstatement or Revocation Fees may REQUIRE you to bring clearance papers that may be needed to clear the citation. Please be aware that Red Light Camera tickets cannot be paid at MVD Express.
Driver’s License Suspensions in New Mexico
There are many reasons why your New Mexico driver’s license might be suspended. At MVD Express, we’ve helped hundreds of people reinstate their license after various driving violations, including:
- Excessive Moving Violations – The state of New Mexico operates on a point system where drivers accumulate points for every moving violation they commit. If you accrue 12 or more of these points within a year, your license will be suspended.
- Driving Under The Influence (DUI) – If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, your driver’s license will be suspended. The length of your suspensions will depend on the severity of your violation, as well as whether it’s a first or repeat offense. In the state of New Mexico, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent if you’re over the age of 21.
- Driving Without Insurance – All motor vehicles driven in New Mexico must be properly insured under state law. Failure to provide proof of auto insurance can result in a suspended license.
If your license has been suspended and it’s time to reinstate it, schedule an appointment at one of the MVD Express locations today!