Vehicle Registration & Renewal
If you need to register or renew the registration of your automobile or motorcycle, stop by one of MVD Express’ convenient New Mexico locations. Our highly knowledgeable staff of customer service agents are available to answer any questions or concerns you may have about your registration renewal. When you visit one of our offices in Albuquerque, Rio Rancho, Santa Fe or Las Cruces, we’ll take the time to explain the registration process in a thorough and easy to understand manner. Schedule an appointment with one of our specialists today!
Vehicle & Motorcycle Registration Services in New Mexico
At MVD Express, we understand that going to the DMV can be a time-consuming hassle. That’s why we’re proud to offer speedy and efficient vehicle registration services through our executive service appointments so you can beat the line before you arrive at our facility. If you’re unsure whether your motorized scooter or boat needs to be registered in Albuquerque, contact our experts today or view the list of vehicles that are required to be registered below.
Regardless of whether you’re a New Mexico resident, it’s important to ensure all of your motor vehicles are properly registered. For all of your registration needs, contact MVD Express today!
What To Bring When Registering A Vehicle At MVD Express
Before you schedule an appointment with one of our DMV professionals, you’ll need gather some important documents, including:
Vehicle & Motorcycle Registration Renewal Services in New Mexico
If you need to renew your current car or motorcycle’s registration, MVD Express can help with that as well. When you visit our state-of-the-art motor vehicle department facility to renew your registration, we’ll get you in and out in no time! Just remember to bring the following items with you:
- Your plate or VIN number
- A valid photo ID or driver’s license
- A passed emissions test (from Bernalillo county only)
- Proof of insurance in New Mexico
Penalties for Late Vehicle Registration in New Mexico
The state of New Mexico imposes penalties for late registration and you can be pulled over for expired tags. The penalties for late car registration can include:
- 1-30 days late: a $10 fine in addition to your vehicle registration fees
- 31 days late and longer: you are required to pay your registration fee plus an additional 75 percent of registration costs
- Possible police citation and fees, related to how many times you have been cited for expired registration
Remembering to renew your vehicle registration on-time can help you avoid these extra fees and citations. Always check your driver’s license and registration on the last day of every month to ensure that you are never late to renew. Contact the experts at MVD Express to schedule an appointment to register your vehicle today!